Connect with us


Ministers of Water, Environment, make listing of Top 100 Environmental Professionals in Nigeria



Ministers of Water, Environment, make listing of TOP100 Environmental Professionals in Nigeria

Environment Africa Magazine and TwoFourSeven Communications Company have unveiled their list of the foremost 100 living Environmental Professionals in Nigeria.

Prominent on the list are the Ministers of Water Resources and Environment, Engr Suleiman Adamu and Barr. Mohammed Abdullahi respectively; alongside other well known names like Pa Akintola Williams, Co-Founder of Nigeria Conservation Foundation (NCF), Chief Idoniboye-Obu, Founding Member and Pioneer President of Nigeria Environmental Society (NES), Prof. Sunday Ajayi, First African Professor of Wildlife Ecology, Prof. Magnus Onuoha, First African Professor of Green Economics, Desmond Majekodunmi, Gbemisola Akosa amongst others. And surprisingly, names not readily associated with the environment such as Naomi Nwokolo, Nigeria Country Director, UN Global Compact, who leads business-led sustainability initiatives and oversees 129 top corporate organizations in Nigeria and Bekeme Masade-Olowola, founder CSR-in-Action, who has developed an enviable capacity in sustainability processes and reporting.

The concept behind the listing is to recognize those who contributed as pioneers to the shaping of the country’s environmental sector and those who have through dint of dynamic initiatives are paving new pathways and strengthening the growth of the sector.

Principal Consultant of TwoFourSeven Communications, Stephen Ipalibo Lawson, says “It was really a case of nail biting and hair pulling. There are so many professionals in the sector who stand out with so many innovative solutions, interventions and drive”

“At the end, we had to do a balancing act to figure out who could stay on the list or not. And obviously, that balancing act meant we had to go beyond the traditional and be quite dynamic on representation”, he concluded.

See also  Int’l Press Centre (IPC) Speakers Call For Unbiased, Balanced News Coverage For Ondo Election

“For instance, we focused more on those offering much more dynamic interventions within the sector than just one facet of it. Or pick someone based on actual influence on policy and representation with real time impact than otherwise, in as much as that impact is felt locally”

Among the factors used were;
1. Practice – Those who have developed industry shaping indigenous capacity in Environmental service sectors.
2. Advocacy – Advocacy that has shaped policies and changed major Dynamics of interactions within the sector
3. Influence – Majorly refers to those in positions of executive authority and across sector representation
4. Mentorship – This refers to pioneers who have contributed and still contributing to the development of the sector

The list covers professionals invested in climate action, waste management, green energy, remediation activities, corporate sustainability, environmental infrastructure, policy and advocacy.

“With the recent floods, unveiling the list is deliberate as it provides an opportunity for us all to step back and look at what the professionals listed here signify; hope and determination. It gives us a sense that we have the requisite capacity to engage ourselves; and if only we can allow ourselves, to find the capacity within us to deal with all sorts of environmental crises and proffer solutions’

“So, we do believe with this wealth of experience, capacity, youth and determination; the brain and grit trust in the environmental industry is alive and available for use here in-country”, says Editor of Environment Africa Magazine, Sam Nwosu.

Environment Africa Magazine shall publish the profiles of the listed professionals highlighting their individual capacities in a digital issue while certificates of recognition will be presented to them at a ceremony to be held in Lagos on 16th of December, 2022 during the magazine’s SEA Awards of Excellence.

See also  EPL: Thierry Henry gives verdict on Gabriel Jesus joining Arsenal this summer

NIGERIA’S TOP 100 ENVIRONMENTAL PROFESSIONALS IMPACT . PRACTICE . ADVOCACY 1) Prof Oladele Osibanjo 2) Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun 3) Prof. Alexander O.E Animalu 4) Prof. Aderonke Adio-Somade 5) HamzatLawal 6) DrPriscilla Achakpa 7) Princess Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire 8) DrOdighaOdigha 9) DrEwahOtuEleri 10) Ibrahim Odumboni 11) Oluyomi Banjo 12) Dr Ferdinand D. Giadom 13) Dr AhmedSanda 14) Prof Babajide Alo 15) Dr Comfort Asokoro-Ogaji 16) Mrs Olanike Olugboji 17) Prof. Chinedum Nwajiuba 18) Prof. Adegoke Adegoroye 19) Prof. Margaret T. Okorodudu-Fubara 20)Dr Nicholas Igwe 21) Dr MrsFelicia Mogo 22) Prof. Adeshola Adepoju 23) Engr Mrs Joanna Maduka 24) Dr Dorothy Bassey 25) MrAdekoya Olusola 26) Fr. Godfrey Nzamujo o.p 27) Dr Dolapo Fasawe 28) Barr. Mohammed Hassan Abdullahi 29) Hon. Samuel I. Onuigbo 30) Engr Sesan Odukoya 31) Dr Joseph Onoja 32) Prof. Seth Sunday Ajayi 33) Dr Ayodele Otaiku 34) Prof. Magnus Onuoha 35) Barr. Gbemisola Titi Akosa 36) Dr Ajoke Muhammed 37) MrTaiwo Adewole 38) Dr Ifeanyi Ochonogor 39) Engr Adebayo Adenekan 40)Naomi Nwokolo 41) Dr Yusuf Maina-Bukar 42) Dr DesmondMajekodunmi 43) Dr Victor Ohioze Imevbore 44) Dr Paul Abolo 45) Prof. David U.U. Okali 46) Prof. Chukwumerije Okereke 47) Dr Amina J. Mohammed 48) Annkio Briggs 49) Barr. Chima Williams 50) Prof. Nurudeen O. Adedipe 51. Hon. Chief Mrs. Sharon Ikeazor 52. Engr Suleiman Husseini Adamu 53. Prof. Anthony M.A Imevbore 54. Dr Tayo Dairo 55. Prof. Anthony Nyong 56. MrIdris Musa 57. Dr SunnyAkpoyibo 58. Pa Akintola Williams 59. Engr Femi Oye 60. Dr Ibrahim Salau 61. MsOmobolaEko 62. Prof. Abubakar Sambo 63. Chief Giwa Bisi Rodipe 64. Prof. Sylvester O. Adegoke 65. Mrs Damilola Ogunbiyi 66. Iheanyi-Ken Nzekwe 67. Prof. Aliyu Jauro 68. Dr Muhtari Aminu-Kano 69. Engr ChukwuogoKeluo 70. Dr Lesi B. Maol 71. Bilikiss Adebiyi-Abiola 72. Engr AhmadSalihijo 73. Adenike Titilope Oladosu 74. Dr NewtonJibunoh 75. Dr Salisu Dahiru 76. Bekeme Masade-Olowola 77. Chioma Ukonu 78. Dr Victor Fodeke 79. Dr Leslie Adogame 80. Prof.Oladapo Afolabi 81. Prof Joseph Dioha 82. Olumide Idowu 83. Thomas Emmanuel 84. Dr Ola Oresanya 85. Dr NnimmoBassey 86. Engr Yahaya Ahmed 87. Prof. Emmanuel O. Oladipo 88. Dr Akanimo Odon 89. Dr Ibrahim Choji 90. Mrs Martha Agbani 91. Dr Innocent Onah 92. Dr Reuben Ossai 93. Dr Eugene Itua 94. Prof Lawrence Ezemonye 95. Prof. Chidi A, Ibeh 96. Dr Fidelis Anukwam 97. Mazi Ukonu 98. Dr Huzi Ishaku Mshelia 99. Prof. Mrs Celina Maduemezia 100. Chief Berenegi Idoniboye-Obu

See also  Nations League: Dean Aston criticizes Southgate as England failed to beat Hungary

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *